MPRRC Club Awards

Final Standings for 2016

The 2016 awards will be based on performance in the races below. The Awards will be presented at the 2017 annual meeting in February. Good luck!

Rules for Club Awards Competition

The Club awards will be based on the individual runner’s best five of the following eight races:

  1. Johnny Faerber 10K
  2. Bill Beauchamp 10K
  3. Lanikai Bike Path – in memory of Daniel Levey
  4. Boca Hawaii Norman Tamanaha Memorial 15K
  5. Marathon Readiness Series 25K
  6. HMSA 30K
  7. Val Nolasco Half Marathon
  8. Sylvia A. Martz 5K

NOTE: Some name changes may occur to Marathon Readiness Series races due to sponsorship deals.

Outstanding Runner awards—five each, Male and Female—will be awarded to the top five runners based on age-graded results. Each runner will have their finish time converted to an age-graded time using age-graded time tables. These tables are produced by WAVA (World Association of Veteran Athletes) and provide a multiplier to convert times to age-graded times. They are backed by 30 years of experience and thousand of results. For this year, we will be using the tables produced in 2006.

Next, an average time will be computed for the race using all MPRRC runners’ age-graded times, but first deleting the top and bottom 20 percent to get a more realistic average time by deleting the extraordinarily fast and slow runners.

Then each runner’s age-graded time will be compared to the average time it took all MPRRC runners. This will allow scoring of multiple events. Taking the top five results from the above eight races will decide the placement. In case of a tie, the member who has done the greater number of races wins.

These end-of-the-year awards will no longer be age-group awards. Instead, Top 5 overall awards will be given to both male and female runners.